Culture, Class and Taste:

“[mass noun] The arts and other manifestations of human intellectual achievement regarded collectively:
20th century popular culture.”

“[mass noun] A system of ordering society whereby people are divided into sets based on perceived social or economic status: people who are socially disenfranchised by class [as modifier]: the class system.”

“[mass noun] The ability to discern what is of good quality or of a high aesthetic standard: she has frightful taste in literature.”

project allows for the close study of culture, as we know it and its evolution, along with the idea that the modern view insinuates that class doesn’t exist, or indeed has effect anymore. Although it is still assured that culture is a collective identity, a consensus of the universal where the majority wins in the ability to conform.

This is familiar to the idea of the previous lecture that art does not escape the class structure systems either; as art was for the rich and bored when it first came around, although when printing process sped up from etching into wood to photographs, art was available, if only as a print, for all. Although whether this means that art sunk to a ‘low art’ lifestyle is yet to be revealed.

This also resonates with my immediate project theme; Shakespeare. As when I studied it during my English Lit A-Level, I hated it, I still do. My teacher at the time used to tell me: “Well, I hate opera but even I have to know it exists.” Shakespeare is a cultural signifier for England, people have a tendency to ‘like’ things they are supposed to like because it is so famous for it’s “Brilliance”, and to not like would be heresy.

Through my current work in my image analysis; I’m starting off with Juliette Losq as my artist advisor, meaning I’m looking at wallpapers; some by William Morris. As the method given to us by the brief I am collected objects and signifiers of my approach to the definitions; that culture is lazy in appreciating the long dead and no-longer relevant, (particularly whose works most haven’t actually read) .

Which I should that ‘analyse and deconstruct’ through stereotypes in culture and the eccentric roles of artists in society, as I develop interests and reflect on taste/class and culture. This will then lead to a developed series of works that show my understanding of my focus, through developed, appropriate language; media and theme. I should also consider the output and the context it will exist in; photographs, books, site specific, Internet, collaboration or performance.

It’s certainly something to think about.

Leave a Reply

